The Golden Temple Amritsar

Sikhism is a monotheistic religion.

The word Sikh means ‘disciple’ or someone who seeks the truth.

Sikhs are the disciples of God who follow the writings and teachings of the 10 Sikh Gurus.

A Sikh is any human being who faithfully believes in:

  1. One God (otherwise known as the Immortal Being)
  2. The ten Gurus
  3. The Guru Granth Sahhib – the Sikh’s holy scripture
  4. The utterances and teachings of the ten Gurus
  5. The baptism bequeathed by the tenth Guru – Gobind Singh
  6. Reht Maryada – Sikh Code of Conduct.

The Ten Gurus

  1. Guru Nanak Dev
  2. Guru Angad Dev
  3. Guru Amar Das
  4. Guru Raam Das
  5. Guru Arjun Dev (Arjan Dev)
  6. Guru Har Govind (Har Gobind)
  7. Guru Har Rai
  8. Guru Har Krishan (Har Kishan)
  9. Guru Teg Bahadar (Tegh Bahadur)
  10. Guru Gobind Singh

The Guru Granth

The Guru Granth is a the scripture of the supreme enlightener and may never be replaced by a human being. It has 1,430 pages in a single volume, called a Granth.